TERRA ODIUM – die neue Prog-Sensation?

TERRA ODIUM ist eine neue Tech Metal-Band, die von bekannten Musikern gegründet wurde, die größtenteils aus der norwegischen Metalszene stammen.


Album: „Ne Plus Ultra“ (Frontiers Music/Soulfood)

  • Technical Metal/Prog aus Norwegen auf allerhöchstem spielerischem Niveau mit grandiosem Gesang
  • eine der aufregendsten Bands des Genres, nicht nur für Fans von anspruchsvollem Metal
  • Sänger/Gitarrist Øyvind Hægeland (Spiral Architect)
  • Bassist Steve Di Giorgio (Testament, Control Denied, Sadus, Death)
  • Rhythm/Lead Gitarre Bollie Fredriksen (Manitou)
  • Drums Asgeier Mickelson (Spiral Architect, Testament, Ihsahn, Borknagar, Sarke, ICS Vortex, Vintersorg)
  • Synth Jon Phipps (Moonspell, Amorphis, Angra)
  • Kjetil Nordhus von Tristania als Gastsänger


The bulk of the band is formed by two former members of Spiral Architect, singer/guitarist Øyvind Hægeland and drummer Asgeir Mickelson. Spiral Architect was a progressive metal band of sorts, who has released one critically acclaimed debut album in the year 2000, produced by Neil Kernon (Queensryche, Dokken etc). They joined forces with guitarist Bollie Fredriksen (Manitou) and together they created the basis of a new band. They decided to have none other than Steve DiGiorgio of Testament complete the line-up and then added Jon Phipps (DRAGONFORCE, MOONSPELL, ANGRA, etc). to add orchestrations.

As a guest, Kjetil Nordhus from Tristania contributes deep operatic voices that heighten (or deepen, perhaps) the mood of the songs.

If you’re a fan of Death, Atheist, Cynic, Watchtower, and of course Dream Theater or other technical metal bands, you will absolutely love this record which showcases unbelievable technical abilities mixed with heaviness and melodies.




  1. Crawling
  2. The Road Not Taken
  3. Winter
  4. The Shadow Lung
  5. The Thorn
  6. It Was Not Death
  7. The Clouded Morning


Bollie Fredriksen – Rhythm & lead guitar
Asgeir Mickelson – Drums
Øyvind Hægeland – Vocals & lead guitar
Steve Di Giorgio – Bass
Jon Phipps – Orchestration & synths